GIME logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

GIME Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • GIME has no published fixed exam dates; your window starts when you activate your attempt, not on a calendar day.
  • You get 120 days from activation to complete the exam, extendable by 45 days for $479.
  • Total access can never exceed 570 days, so extensions are a finite resource.
  • The exam is 75 questions in 2 hours, open book, with no review or changing of submitted answers.

Why There Is No Fixed GIME Exam Calendar

If you are searching for "GIME exam dates 2026" expecting a table of quarterly sittings, the reality is simpler and more flexible. The GIAC iOS and macOS Examiner (GIME) is a web-based proctored exam that you schedule around your own purchase and activation, not a cohort-based test with a handful of annual dates. The issuer, GIAC Certifications, does not publish a list of "testing windows" for this credential in the sources reviewed for this article.

What GIME does have is a set of time-bound rules that behave like deadlines. Once you understand them, you can build a personal exam calendar that is more reliable than any generic published schedule. The rest of this guide walks through those rules and how to plan around them.

Dates vs. windows: For GIME, the thing that expires is not a public calendar slot but your access to the attempt you purchased. Treat your activation date as day one of a countdown, and your exam appointment as something you book inside that countdown.

If you are still orienting yourself on the credential itself, the overview pages What Is GIME Certification? and What Does GIME Stand For? confirm that this guide concerns the GIAC iOS and macOS Examiner, a digital-forensics credential, and nothing else that happens to share the abbreviation.

The 120-Day Window and 570-Day Ceiling

The single most important timing concept for GIME is the 120-day activation-to-completion window. This period is separate from your examination time (the 2 hours you get once the exam starts). It is the span during which you must actually take the exam after your attempt is activated. Purchase-specific delivery terms and your GIAC account govern the exact mechanics of your own attempt, so always confirm the dates shown in your account rather than assuming.

Extensions: what they add and where they stop

If life, work, or case load pushes you past the window, GIAC offers an attempt extension. The facts that matter for planning:

  • A standard extension costs $479 and adds 45 days.
  • Extensions are subject to a 570-day maximum access limit. You cannot keep extending indefinitely.
  • The extension fee is a real cost, close to half the price of the attempt itself, so a realistic schedule up front is cheaper than a rescue later.
Timing ItemWhat It Means for GIME
Activation-to-completion window120 days to complete the exam after activation
Standard extensionAdds 45 days; $479 (excluding applicable sales tax)
Maximum access570 days total; extensions are subject to this cap
Exam time once started2 hours for 75 questions
Certification validity4 years from certification

Key Takeaway

Do not activate your attempt until you can realistically commit to studying. Activation starts the 120-day clock, and every extension costs money and draws down the 570-day ceiling.

Onsite Pearson VUE vs. Remote ProctorU

GIME is delivered as a proctored exam, and you generally choose between two modes: an onsite session at a Pearson VUE testing center or a remote session through ProctorU. Availability is subject to the purchased attempt, so the options you see depend on what you bought and what your account shows.

FactorOnsite (Pearson VUE)Remote (ProctorU)
Where you testTesting centerYour own approved space
Scheduling pressureDepends on center seat availability near youDepends on proctor availability
Best forCandidates with a nearby center or an unreliable home setupCandidates far from a center or needing flexibility
Open-book handlingPrinted materials only, per exam rulesPrinted materials only, per exam rules

Both modes follow the same content rules. GIME is open book, but only printed books, notes, and an index are permitted. Electronic references, internet access, and materials resembling practice or exam questions and answers are prohibited. For remote candidates, that means clearing your desk of anything that looks like a digital aid before the proctor checks your space. The GIAC proctor program overview and the proctored exam reference guide are the authoritative places to confirm current check-in requirements.

Book the slot early inside your window: Because your 120 days are fixed, a full testing center or thin remote availability near your target date can eat into your margin. Aim to reserve your appointment well before the final stretch of the window rather than in the last week.

Fees That Affect Your Timeline

Timing and money are tied together for GIME. The published USD amounts below exclude applicable sales tax, and SANS training and affiliate bundles are priced separately. No member versus non-member price schedule is published for these items.

ItemFee (USD)Timing Relevance
Certification attempt$999Starts the 120-day clock when activated
Retake$899A fresh attempt if you do not pass
Practice exam$399Useful mid-window as a readiness check
Attempt extension$479Adds 45 days, up to the 570-day cap
Renewal$499Due as your 4-year validity period approaches

For a full breakdown of what each line item buys you, see GIME Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. The timing lesson is straightforward: a retake at $899 and an extension at $479 are both avoidable if you pace the first attempt well. You can also run through free-form drills on the main practice test site before you spend on the official practice exam.

Planning Backward From Your Exam Day

The most practical way to "find" your GIME exam date is to choose it yourself and work backward. There are no formal prerequisites, so nothing gates when you can sit; the training is recommended but not compulsory. Read GIME Requirements 2026 if you want the full eligibility picture, including why the FOR518 course notes about forensics and Unix command-line familiarity are helpful context rather than entry requirements.

A sensible order of operations

  1. Decide your target sitting month based on your workload and any SANS training you plan to take.
  2. Purchase and activate only when your study start date is imminent, so the 120 days map onto real study time.
  3. Build your printed index early, since open-book success depends on a usable index, not just permitted books.
  4. Reserve your proctored slot (onsite or remote) with a buffer before the window closes.
  5. Hold the extension in reserve as a safety net, not a plan.
Why the index matters for scheduling: Because GIME is open book, your preparation is not just learning content but also organizing printed references so you can find answers quickly. Indexing takes real calendar time, so it belongs in your timeline from the start, not the final weekend.

Sequencing the 13 Objectives Against Your Deadline

GIAC lists 13 certification objective headings for GIME. These are official objectives, not a preparation curriculum, and no official percentage weights or highest-weighted objective are published, so avoid assuming any one area dominates the exam. For a full walk-through of each one, see GIME Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 13 Content Areas. Here is how to sequence them against a countdown.

Foundation block: Introduction to Apple Operating Systems, Introduction to Disk and File Systems, Application Fundamentals

Start here because later artifact analysis assumes you understand how Apple platforms are structured and how data is stored.

  • Terminology you will reuse in every later objective
  • Disk and file-system concepts that underpin recovery and interpretation

Evidence-location block: Apple File System Artifacts, User Data and System Configuration, Apple Application Analysis, Productivity Application Analysis, Document and iCloud analysis

These objectives are about knowing where artifacts live and what they reveal, which is exactly the lookup skill an open-book exam rewards.

  • Build index entries as you study each artifact location
  • Practice connecting an artifact to the question a forensic examiner would ask

Investigation-workflow block: Apple Systems Triage, Incident Response, Log Analysis and Timeline Creation, Pattern of Life, Encrypted Container and Memory Analysis

Save these for later in your window, once the artifact knowledge is solid, because they ask you to combine evidence into a coherent narrative.

  • Timeline reasoning across multiple artifact sources
  • Handling encrypted containers and memory evidence

This single scheduling idea is the only study-method guidance this article offers: put foundations first, artifact lookups in the middle, and investigative synthesis last, so your index and your reasoning mature in the same order the exam rewards them. For deeper preparation tactics, the GIME Study Guide 2026 covers the full approach, and GIME Training discusses course options.

What Happens Once the Clock Starts

Knowing the format helps you decide how much of your window to spend on practice versus content review.

  • 75 questions in 2 hours, delivered through a web-based proctored interface.
  • Minimum passing score of 67% for exam versions released on or after June 2, 2022. That date is a passing-score version threshold, not a statement about when the objectives were last revised. See GIME Passing Score 2026 for more detail.
  • No review or change of submitted answers. Each answer you submit is final, so pacing and confidence matter.
  • The scored versus unscored split, the exact item-type mix, calculator rules, and any adaptive behavior are not publicly specified in the reviewed sources, so do not rely on assumptions from other exams.

Key Takeaway

With roughly 1.6 minutes per question on average and no ability to go back, rehearse answering and committing in a timed setting. Use your open-book index to confirm, not to learn, during the exam.

Candidates often ask how this compares to other exams; How Hard Is the GIME Exam? discusses difficulty, and GIME Pass Rate 2026 explains why the passing score should not be confused with a population pass rate, which is not publicly specified.

After You Pass: The 4-Year Renewal Clock

Your GIME certification is valid for 4 years, so your next "exam date" is really a renewal deadline. You have two routes: earn 36 CPEs or pass the renewal exam, with the renewal fee of $499 applying either way. If you register additional renewals within 2 years after a full-price $499 renewal, each costs $249.

Plan your renewal the same way you planned the exam: work backward from the expiry date, and begin collecting CPE documentation early if you prefer that route. If you are weighing whether the credential justifies the ongoing investment, read Is the GIME Certification Worth It?, GIME Salary Guide 2026, and GIME Jobs to see who values it and in what roles.

For a compact refresher of the facts in this article, GIME Cheat Sheet 2026 condenses the must-know details onto one page.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed GIME exam dates in 2026?

No fixed calendar of testing windows is published in the reviewed sources. Your timeline is driven by when you activate your attempt and the 120-day window that follows, with your appointment booked inside it.

How long do I have to take the exam after activating?

You have 120 days from activation to complete the exam. This is separate from the 2 hours of examination time. Your GIAC account and purchase-specific terms govern the exact dates for your own attempt.

Can I extend my window if I run out of time?

Yes. A standard extension costs $479 and adds 45 days, but total access cannot exceed 570 days. Because extensions are limited and not cheap, it is better to schedule realistically from the start.

Can I take GIME at home?

GIME can be delivered either onsite through Pearson VUE or remotely through ProctorU, subject to availability for the purchased attempt. Either way, only printed books, notes, and an index are allowed; electronic references and internet access are prohibited.

What if I do not pass on my first sitting?

A retake costs $899, excluding applicable sales tax. Since submitted answers cannot be reviewed or changed during the exam, use the practice exam and timed drills, including those on the GIME practice test site, to reduce the odds of needing one.

Ready to pass your GIME exam?

Put this into practice with free GIME questions across every exam domain.