GIME logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

GIME Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • GIAC does not publish a population pass rate for the GIME exam in the sources reviewed, so any quoted percentage is unverified.
  • The minimum passing score is 67% for exam versions released on or after June 2, 2022; that is a cut score, not a pass rate.
  • The exam is 75 questions in 2 hours, open book with printed materials only, and submitted answers cannot be changed.
  • A retake costs $899, so the real cost of a failed attempt is high; a $399 practice exam is available.

What "Pass Rate" Actually Means for GIME

Search for the GIME pass rate and you will find confident-sounding numbers on forums, reseller pages, and social posts. Treat them with suspicion. In the official GIAC materials reviewed for this article, there is no published population pass rate for the GIAC iOS and macOS Examiner (GIME) exam. No percentage of first-time takers who pass, no percentage of all takers who pass, and no annual success statistic appears on the certification page, the pricing page, or the retakes and extensions knowledge-base article.

That absence matters. A "pass rate" is a statistic about a population of candidates: how many sat the exam and how many cleared the bar. Without GIAC releasing that figure, anyone quoting one is either guessing, citing an anecdotal poll of a study group, or borrowing a number from a different credential that happens to share the acronym. Several unrelated certifications are abbreviated "GIME," so cross-contamination of statistics is a real hazard when you read around the web. This article concerns only the GIAC iOS and macOS Examiner credential, the Apple-focused digital forensics certification from GIAC.

If you are comparing how demanding this exam is against others, our companion piece How Hard Is the GIME Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 approaches the question qualitatively, which is the honest way to do it when the numbers are not public.

What GIAC Publishes and What It Doesn't

Separating verified facts from folklore is the most useful thing a candidate can do before scheduling. Here is the line between the two.

ItemStatus in reviewed official sources
Number of questionsPublished: 75
Time allowedPublished: 2 hours
Minimum passing scorePublished: 67% (versions released on or after June 2, 2022)
Population pass rateNot published
Scored vs. unscored question splitNot publicly specified
Exact item-type mixNot publicly specified
Per-objective percentage weightsNot published
Adaptive format or calculator rulesNot publicly specified

Notice what the "not published" rows imply. You cannot calculate a pass probability from public data, and you cannot reverse-engineer which of the 13 objectives carries the most marks. Anyone claiming a "heaviest domain" for GIME is working from speculation rather than an official blueprint. For a breakdown of what each objective covers, see GIME Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 13 Content Areas.

Verification habit: Whenever you see a GIME pass-rate claim, ask three questions. Who measured it? Over what population? When? If the answer to any of these is missing, the number is decoration, not data.

Passing Score vs. Pass Rate: Don't Confuse Them

The single most common error in articles about this topic is conflating two different ideas. The passing score is the threshold you must reach on your own exam: 67% for exam versions released on or after June 2, 2022. The pass rate is the share of all candidates who clear that threshold. The first is a rule; the second is an outcome that GIAC has not made public for this exam.

A 67% cut on a 75-question exam means you need roughly two-thirds of the scored questions correct. Because the scored/unscored split is not publicly specified, you should not assume all 75 items count toward your score, and you should not try to compute a precise number of questions you can miss. Instead, aim comfortably above the line. The detailed mechanics of the threshold are covered in GIME Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

One more caution: June 2, 2022 is a version threshold for the passing-score rule. It tells you nothing about when the exam objectives were last revised, and GIAC does not show a public outline revision number or a separate 2026 blueprint. Do not read the date as a "new exam launched" marker.

Format Factors That Shape Outcomes

Even without a published pass rate, the structure of the exam tells you what kind of preparation produces results. The facts are straightforward: one web-based proctored exam, 75 questions, 2 hours, delivered onsite through Pearson VUE or remotely through ProctorU, subject to availability for the attempt you purchased.

Pacing is a real constraint

Two hours for 75 questions averages out to well under two minutes per question. For a forensic examiner's exam, that is tight when a question asks you to reason about an artifact location, a plist structure, or a timestamp format. This is exactly where an open-book exam can mislead: having your index in front of you does not help if you spend ninety seconds hunting for each answer.

No second look

Submitted answers cannot be reviewed or changed. That removes the common "flag and return" strategy some candidates rely on elsewhere. You must commit as you go, which rewards decisiveness and penalizes lingering. Practice under that constraint rather than discovering it on exam day.

Do not import assumptions from other GIAC exams

Some GIAC certifications include a hands-on, virtualized practical component. The reviewed sources for GIME do not specify a GIME-specific practical component, and you should not assume one exists or prepare as though it does. Likewise, do not assume adaptive question selection or particular calculator rules; these are not specified publicly. Verify format details in your GIAC account and the proctored exam reference guide when you register.

Key Takeaway

Plan for roughly two minutes per question with no ability to revisit answers. Build your index so a lookup takes seconds, and practice committing to an answer rather than deferring it.

Where Candidates Lose Points Across the 13 Objectives

GIAC lists thirteen certification objective headings in its own order. These are official exam objectives, not a preparation curriculum, and the count is simply the number of headings supplied; GIAC does not describe them as thirteen weighted domains. With no percentages published, the safest strategy is balanced coverage with extra drilling on the areas where Apple-specific detail is unforgiving.

Without a published pass rate, we cannot say which objectives candidates fail most often. What we can do is identify where the subject matter is intrinsically detail-heavy, based on the objective names themselves.

Apple File System Artifacts and Introduction to Disk and File Systems

These objectives reward precise knowledge of how Apple storage is structured and where evidence lives on disk.

  • Volume and container concepts that differ from other platforms
  • Where system and user artifacts reside and what they record
  • How file-system behavior affects timestamps and recoverability

Log Analysis and Timeline Creation

Timeline questions test whether you can order events and interpret time values correctly across different sources.

  • Reading unified-style system logs and understanding what they retain
  • Normalizing and correlating timestamps from multiple artifact types
  • Building a defensible sequence of events from fragmentary evidence

Pattern of Life and User Data and System Configuration

These objectives ask you to infer user behavior and device state from artifacts that were never designed as evidence.

  • Reconstructing usage patterns from activity and configuration records
  • Distinguishing system-generated noise from user-driven activity
  • Understanding preferences and settings that reveal how a device was used

Encrypted Container and Memory Analysis

Encryption and volatile data raise conceptual questions about what can and cannot be recovered.

  • How encrypted containers affect acquisition and analysis decisions
  • What memory can reveal that disk artifacts cannot
  • Limits on access when keys or credentials are unavailable

The remaining objectives, Apple Application Analysis, Apple Systems Triage, Application Fundamentals, Document and iCloud analysis, Incident Response, Introduction to Apple Operating Systems, and Productivity Application Analysis, round out the exam. Do not treat them as filler. Because weights are unpublished, a neglected objective is an unquantified risk. The full walkthrough is in the complete domains guide.

The Open-Book Reality Check

GIME is open book, but within strict limits: printed books, notes, and an index are permitted. Electronic references and internet access are prohibited, as are materials resembling practice or exam questions and answers. That last restriction deserves attention. Do not bring annotated copies of practice-test items into the exam room; doing so can create a compliance problem on top of a performance problem.

An open-book format changes what "difficulty" means. You are less likely to fail because you could not recall a single obscure fact and more likely to fail because you could not find it fast enough, or because you did not understand the concept well enough to know what to look up. A well-built index maps topics to page references so retrieval is nearly instant. A sprawling, unindexed stack of printouts becomes a liability under a two-hour clock.

For a compact reference to build from, see the GIME Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts, and use it to seed your own index rather than as a substitute for one.

Attempt Economics: Fees, Retakes, and Windows

Because no pass rate is public, the practical way to think about risk is cost per attempt. GIAC's published pricing, excluding applicable sales tax, is:

ItemPrice (USD)
Certification attempt$999
Retake$899
Practice exam$399
Attempt extension$479
Renewal$499

No separate member and non-member schedule is published. SANS training and affiliate bundles carry their own separate pricing, so a bundle's price is not the same as the standalone attempt fee. Our GIME Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown covers the full picture.

The 120-day window

Once your attempt is activated, you have 120 days to complete it. That window is separate from the two hours of exam time. If you need more runway, a standard extension adds 45 days, subject to a 570-day maximum access limit. The purchase-specific delivery terms and your GIAC account govern the actual attempt, so check them rather than relying on a summary. Scheduling logistics are discussed in GIME Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

The retake math: A retake at $899 is only $100 less than a first attempt at $999. Since failing costs nearly as much as starting over, spending on a $399 practice exam beforehand is a rational hedge, not an indulgence. Treat practice results as a calibration tool, not a prediction of the real outcome.

No formal prerequisites

There are no formal prerequisites for the exam. Training is recommended rather than compulsory, and no mandatory education, work-hour, or training-hour requirement was identified. The related SANS FOR518 course notes that working knowledge of forensics and the Unix command line is useful, but that is a course recommendation, not a GIME eligibility rule. See GIME Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify for details. Once certified, the credential is valid for four years and renewable through 36 CPEs or by passing the renewal exam.

A Domain-Sequenced Readiness Plan

Rather than a generic study calendar, sequence your preparation by how the objectives build on each other. Foundations first, interpretation last.

Week 1

Foundations

  • Introduction to Apple Operating Systems
  • Introduction to Disk and File Systems
  • Application Fundamentals
Week 2

Artifacts and Triage

  • Apple File System Artifacts
  • Apple Systems Triage
  • User Data and System Configuration
Week 3

Applications and Cloud

  • Apple Application Analysis
  • Productivity Application Analysis
  • Document and iCloud analysis
Week 4

Synthesis and Index

  • Log Analysis and Timeline Creation
  • Pattern of Life
  • Encrypted Container and Memory Analysis; Incident Response
  • Finalize your index and run timed practice

The logic is deliberate: timeline and pattern-of-life work depend on understanding the artifacts that feed them, so they come late. Build your index as you go, week by week, rather than in a panic at the end. Use our practice tests to simulate the 75-question, 2-hour pace, and review missed items by objective to find where your index is thin. For a fuller plan, read GIME Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and consider the official GIME training options if you want structured instruction.

Finally, ask whether the credential suits your goals. Those considering the career angle can review Is the GIME Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and GIME jobs before committing to the fee.

Key Takeaway

Since GIAC publishes no per-objective weights and no pass rate, your best defense is breadth plus speed: cover all 13 objectives, build a fast index, and rehearse the no-review, two-minute-per-question rhythm with timed practice questions.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the GIME pass rate?

GIAC has not published a population pass rate for the GIAC iOS and macOS Examiner exam in the sources reviewed. Any specific percentage you see online is unverified. What is published is the 75-question, 2-hour format and a 67% minimum passing score.

Is the 67% passing score the same as the pass rate?

No. The 67% figure is the score an individual candidate needs, applicable to exam versions released on or after June 2, 2022. The pass rate would be the share of all candidates who reach it, and that share is not publicly specified.

Can I change answers or review the exam before submitting?

No. Submitted answers cannot be reviewed or changed, so you should answer decisively and manage your time across the 75 questions rather than planning to return to skipped items.

What happens if I fail, and what does a retake cost?

You can attempt again by purchasing a retake, which costs $899 excluding applicable sales tax. The 120-day activation window and the optional $479 extension, which adds 45 days up to a 570-day maximum, govern how long you have to complete an attempt.

Can I bring notes into the GIME exam?

Yes, within limits. Printed books, notes, and an index are permitted. Electronic references, internet access, and materials resembling practice or exam questions and answers are prohibited, so keep your reference material to legitimate study notes.

Ready to pass your GIME exam?

Put this into practice with free GIME questions across every exam domain.